Games, General

PSN Outage

Well the day I got back from Cyprus PSN went down and now the details are flooding in. I thought I would put my opinion out on the situation.

Between the 17 and 19th April 2011 hackers hacked into the PlayStation Network and Qriocity. I think they found out as disbanded Dev accounts had been logged into and flagged up on there internal security system. Once this happened they then turned off the PSN and got in an outside company to asses the damage. The outside company then notice account detail system had been accessed by the Dev accounts. Sony then released this information to its users.

The above is what I think happened after reading through the details we have received plus some speculation.

Now I’m a PSN user and my details might have been compromised but I’m not playing the blame game and pointing my finger at Sony, if anyone is to blame it’s the hackers. Sure security should have been a little stronger and that’s what Sony is now working on.

The timescale for a network rebuild with Millions of users is unknown and that’s why we have not received a date when the PSN will be back up. I’m not over the moon about this but if it makes PSN safer I’m happy.

I will continue to play on PSN once it’s back up and running as it’s a free service and you don’t have to pay £40 a year subscription like on XBL.

As for the details obtained by the hackers is still unknown im not cancelling my credit card or changing my details.

My credit card details have been stolen twice and my bank account once? I’m as safe as I can be online and therefore can only blame the sites/companies I use (eBay, Amazon, Play.Com etc) which have been in the news at some point with account information breaches. I still use these companies as most credit card and banks have theft protection. If you see suspicious activities on any of your accounts you have 60 days to report it and they normally issue new cards and refund stolen monies.

Standard

Leave a Reply

