Games

Gaming Headset FTW

Over the past few years of my gaming life I have used a full surround sound system, that was until I moved in with my partner. My partner isn’t a gamer, and surround sound isn’t for her, she thinks stereo sound the same as Dolby 5.1, she also thinks HD is the same as SD. Well since our son came along 19 months ago, I have had to sit at night with the TV on its lowest volume whispering into my headset trying to be a team player. That was until now.

After countless views of reviews and everything, I decided to look around at a few gaming headsets. The few that had great reviews were:

  •  Madcatz Tritton AX Pro
  •  Madcatz Tritton AX 720
  • Astro A50
  • Astro A40
  • Official PlayStation 3 Wireless Stereo Headset
  • Sharkoon X-Tatic Digital

All had good points, and all had bad, the Official PlayStation 3 Wireless Stereo Headset has 7.1 but its virtual surround . I decided in the end to go with the Sharkoon X-Tatic Digital.

 I ordered them Friday 13th and received them Monday 16th Thanks to Amazon UK, price was under £100 and were the second least expensive but full Dolby Digital 5.1. The Madcatz Tritton AX Pro is £150 and the exact same headset as this and if it was the same price I would have ordered them instead.

 Setup was easy about 5 minutes and it’s a very straight forward headset with a lot of great features. You can set the volume on each speaker set, so front, rear, center and sub. You can adjust the volume for just the game sound or team comms.

 I first tested the sound on Virtual Fighter 5 which was only in Pro Logic, sound quality was load and clear, as I had just got it and I’m a typical bloke I of course pressed every button available (Not the greatest idea). I then played Warhammer 40k Space Marine which was 5.1 Dolby Digital and the guys I was playing with also told me the comms was clear as day. My friend who also owns a pair talked me through why I had too much Bass and no front sound, all due to the random button pressing.

 On Tuesdays I play Uncharted 2 which was also in 5.1 and I could hear the enemies from every which way chased them down and was the top scorer 3 games in a row

 Tonight I will be on Battlefield 3 which is also in full Dolby Digital 5.1, if I go off my current gaming experiences with this headset I’m expecting a much better night.

 See you on the Battlefield – BF3 – SNR Senior Gamers server.

Standard

One thought on “Gaming Headset FTW

Leave a Reply

