Games

Social Media Gaming and Free 2 Play

A few months back I gave up on Facebook, with the non stop pictures I don’t care about, and the endless game invites I don’t want to play filling my time line. I literally thought it was no longer a social media site and more a gaming site.

Originally as a Gamer and having family who played Farmville daily, I started playing too, not to the degree of my family, but needless to say it filled in a small chunk of my life. The problem with these kinds of games is there free, but to get anywhere you need to buy items just to get the smallest task done. Therefore to get further in the game you end up spending £££. Not only that but you need an army of friends to send and receive items to and from just to play.

At E3 2012 EA announced Simcity Social, and as a fan of Simcity I jumped straight onto it. The advert for it was great saying it was different bigger and better then Farmville, unfortunately it wasn’t, it had the same playability, with its add 10 friends to get anywhere objectives. I know I don’t have 10 friends who would want to play it, so I prity much stopped playing after a week.

Zynga, EA, Ubisoft and Gameloft are just a few companies that come to mind with these kinds of social media games. The thing is why are they so popular? I can’t be bothered to piss around doing the same thing over and over. Yet there are thousands of player’s on these games. I recently bought a Nexus 7, one of the recommended games was by Gameloft called The Oregon Trail. As a new tablet user I decided to try it out, kind of a test for game’s on the device. Well yet again 5 minutes in and you need to add 5 friends, as I no longer have Facebook, I now have no choice but to search for Gameloft users and hope they accept my invite just to get anything done. I could of course just delete it and never play it again. The other thing with this games is you need to spend £££ just to get the game into full swing fast.

Facebook lost me due to it being more about the games and less about being social with friends and family. And now these F2P games are making me not want to play them. Major game developer’s are claiming F2P is the way forward, to me this isn’t the case, it will be the rich get further and the poor get nowhere. I have seen this kind of thing already when playing UC3, people paying for perk items to increase there stats making it harder for the casual gamers like me to progress further in the game.

There is an exception, if the payable perks do nothing more then change the look of something, say your guns and cars but leave the gameplay as is, there is no advantage other then looks, maybe if you have a base you can kit it out with payable goods.

I understand why developer’s are doing this with the constant cost of multiplayer games mounting up with the running costs of servers ect.

With games like CoD having Elite, and Battlefield 3 having premium, this must have raised the money to keep the servers running and the man power costs for making the DLC.

I’m not for or against F2P but i’m not gonna be happy if I have to spends £££ just to match other gamers in a game.

Standard

Leave a Reply

