Games

Is PC Gaming Is Back For Good?

These days you don’t need the best pc to run good games, I proved that earlier this year with my purchase of a cheap gaming rig. At around the £350 mark and capable of 60+ FPS on most games I can’t complain. With the likes Minecraft which has sold 12 Million units on the PC alone, let’s face it it’s not exactly a graphic intensive game. The more I look the more indie games I see making millions and these games are just as fun as some triple A titles on the market. It seems Steam and Origin have found the current market that consumers want. Every week Steam has its weekly/daily deals with Sometimes 80% off some games, PC games don’t break the bank either most being £15 cheaper then the console equivalent.

PC gaming is graphically better then console, this has always been so, the 60+ FPS makes a great deal of difference especially when playing online. The next gen consoles are now hitting 60 FPS to make console gamers experience better.

The problem I had in my early years of PC gaming was every few months I felt like I needed to upgrade my GFX card just to play some of the latest games. This is no longer the issue with a half decent GFX card you won’t need to upgrade for at least a year or two and even then it’s not needed. Some games  will match most console games on medium settings anyway.

I prefer console gaming with the switch on, disc in and play. PC is turn on wait to load OS wait for all background processes to load and then start the game, which will also take time to load. Console has one controller and once your used to it that’s it, key binding is never an issue as most games use the same controls.

Now to the point PC gaming is at the highest it has been since 1990 and with game prices and the cost of a PC I can only see this going up. Next Gen consoles are all around £500+ and adding the £50 a game it will be cheaper in the short term to have a PC. I do belive in the long term console is cheaper as the average life span for a console is 10 years and in that time you would have spent another £600+ on PC maintenance and upgrades.

Standard

One thought on “Is PC Gaming Is Back For Good?

  1. Uncle Ace says:

    I’m back into my PC, The prices of new consoles and the games to play on them are just too much. £350 for a new console and Over £50 a game for PS4 games? . Not for me. Theres possibly 3 or 4 games that I would want on the PS4 , If I get a console and 3 games, that would work out at over £150 per game. .i’ll stick to buying the odd PS3 game and PC games on steam where there are a wider variety of games available than the console until there are lots of used PS4 games and the consoles are a lower price out there..I cant see my £270 PC being out of date for a good few years.

Leave a Reply

